Soldering Irons

Tutorials, tools, techniques, methodologies......

Moderator: Modulators

bigspider
Noise Person

Soldering Irons

Post by bigspider »

What kind of soldering iron does everybody use? I need to get a new iron and I'm thinking of getting my first somewhat nice one, such as a Hakko.
Soloman Tump
Merzwow

Re: Soldering Irons

Post by Soloman Tump »

I'm going to treat myself soon to, so keeping an eye on this thread
Dismal electronics from Devon
https://intrusivesignals.blogspot.com/ :geek:
NoiseWiki
Wiki Bastard

Post by NoiseWiki »

hakko is good.. I'd also reccomend one that has a digital temp readout and a stand.
crochambeau
Merzwow

Post by crochambeau »

I've been using a Weller WES50 for about fifteen years. Any proper temperature controlled station should fit the bill (and are generally a dream to use in comparison to the plug directly into the wall units that I have used).

I'm planning on scooping another station in case the one I have ever fails, but am probably as wet behind the ears as anyone else with regards to current offerings.

Seriously considering getting a station that also does hot air as I incorporate more SMT into my work, might opt to get a vacuum de-soldering station first though.

Weller, Hakko, Xytronic have seemed decent in the past. I may also take a chance at one of the cheap exotics now widely available..
When in doubt, add resistance.

http://www.rochambeau.net/
bigspider
Noise Person

Post by bigspider »

Some of the cheap stations seem to have decent reputations, which is one reason I've been having trouble deciding. I read someone somewhere say that Hakko clones are just as good as the real thing if they have good tips on them. I have only ever used Radioshack soldering irons, and I think a good station that is high watt and has a temperature readout would save me so much frustration that it would be worth it.